Skip to main content

Press Release


November 3, 2000

ALBUQUERQUE – The Anderson Schools of Management at the University of New Mexico is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2000 Up-and-Comers awards. A luncheon honoring 36 young leaders will be held on Tuesday, November 14 at 11:30 a.m. at the Radisson Hotel and Conference Center in Albuquerque.

The featured speaker for this event will be Mr. John Richardson, Minister and Deputy Head of the European Commission Delegation to the United States. His topic will be the “European Dilemma: Encouraging Innovation on a Continent with 2000 Years of Tradition,” and his comments will engage the New Mexico audience in how our own traditions can interplay with the demands of the global economy. Serving as the event’s celebrity emcee will be longtime Albuquerque newsman Dick Knipfing of KRQE-TV.

Tickets to this event are $50.00 per person or $400.00 for a corporate table and reservations can be made by calling 277-0880. The event is being generously underwritten by gifts from Arthur Andersen, LLP, and Wells Fargo Bank. The media sponsor for the event is the New Mexico Business Weekly. The University of New Mexico’s Alumni Association and The Anderson Schools of Management Foundation Board are also supporting this new program.

The Up & Comers Awards are honoring outstanding people in business throughout the state of New Mexico who are demonstrating excellence in their profession and community service activities. Over 130 were nominated for the awards, with 36 honorees chosen for the recognition. This initial class of Up-and-Comers has an average age of 37, represents seven New Mexico communities and a wide range of professions.

The Albuquerque honorees are: MaryAnn R. Baker-Randall, an attorney with Baker, Randall & Associates, PC; Curt J. “C.J.” Chavez, President of G-Katmar Inc.; Joan Coff, M.D., with Blue Dolphin Chiropractic; Perry L. Denker, Vice President of Albuquerque Economic Development, Inc.; James E. Fuller, State Outreach Director/Executive Director of the Pete Domenici/Bush-Cheney 2000 Inc.; Tom Garrity, President of The Garrity Group Public Relations; Charlene S. Golden, Academic Administrator at the College of Education, UNM; Daniel G. Gutierrez, Director of Economic Development for Bernalillo County; Robert Gerard Heiser, Principal/Vice President of DCSW, Inc.; Christopher W. Hickman, Director of Technology and Innovation at PNM; Erik Lohmeier, Vice President and Group Account Director for Rick Johnson & Company, Inc.; and Joseph M. Lujan,Vice President for Personal Lines at Manuel Lujan Insurance.

Other Albuquerqueans include: Steve McKee, President of McKee Wallwork Henderson Advertising; Gabriel Merced Parra, an attorney with Sutin, Thayer & Browne; Roxanna Meyers, President of Century Plus; Jackie Kerby Moore, Manager of Sandia Science & Technology Park; John Oliver, Chairman/Founder of Menla Corp.; Edward Pulsifer, Vice President of Convention Sales and Marketing for the Albuquerque Convention and Visitors Bureau; John R. Ransom, Real Estate Advisor with Grubb & Ellis/Lewinger Hamilton, Inc.; Curt J. Richter, Jr., Owner/President of Imaging Concepts of New Mexico, Inc.; Joan Rosley-Griffin, President of Griffin & Associates, Inc.; Lorin Saint Erramouspe, President/Dance Educator of Dance Alegre!; J. Brad Steward, Director of Finance for SVS, Inc.; Lynn Trojahn, Director of Advancement at the Bosque School; Jennifer M. Van Drunen, President of Interactive Solutions, Inc.; Darin Keith Wade, Commercial Sales/Leasing Director at Richardson Ford Sales; Maureen M. Walter, Principal at BPLW Architects & Engineers, Inc.; Helen J. Wertheim, President/COO of Charter Insurance Services Inc.; Heather Wilson, Congresswoman in the US House of Representatives; and Lisa Kaplan Witt, President of Avista Video Histories.

Around the state, recipients included: Jeffrey Armijo, President of Paradise Travel, Inc. in Socorro; Gary A. Escudero, M.D., Director of Clinical and Medical Affairs at the Gallup Indian Medical Center; John H. Hooker, an architect with Hooker & Hooker Architects in Los Ranchos de Albuquerque; Beverlee J. McClure, President of Clovis Community College; Jerry Pacheco, President/CEO of Global Perspectives Integrated, LLC in Santa Teresa; and Kevin L. Reid, President/Owner of Reid & Associates, Inc. in Rio Rancho.


The Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico is dedicated to excellence in professional management education. At the Anderson School, faculty, staff, and students are committed to shaping the intellect and character of the next generation of business leaders, advancing the knowledge and practice of management, promoting economic development, and building a vibrant intellectual community that serves the highest and best interests of all our stakeholders.

The School was founded in 1947 and now offers more than a dozen concentrations at the BBA and MBA levels and is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in the top 20% of business schools in the nation. The School is funded by the State of New Mexico and further support is generated by The Anderson School of Management Foundation. For more information, the public can visit, email, or call (505) 277-6471.