Skip to main content

Press Release

UNM’s Anderson Schools Announce 2004 Young Alumni Award Recipients

March 11, 2004

The Robert O. Anderson Schools of Management at The University of New Mexico are pleased to announce the recipients of its first annual Young Alumni Award. Jason P. Anderson, Vice President & District Manager, Central Oklahoma District, Bank of Oklahoma, NA; Maria Elena Berry, Owner & President, Cumbre Construction, Inc.; and Cristina Jaramillo, Vice President/Marketing Officer (Public Relations and Advertising), Ranchers Banks will be recognized at The Schools’ 15th Annual Hall of Fame Dinner on May 6.

Jason P. Anderson assumed the role of Vice President & District Manager for Bank of Oklahoma’s Central Oklahoma District in January 2003. He currently serves on the NMSU International Alumni Association Board of Directors and is a previous member of the Boards of Directors for the Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce, the Albuquerque Hispano Chamber of Commerce, and the New Mexico Special Olympics. In 2002, Anderson was named to the New Mexico Business Weekly’s “40 Under 40” list. He received his MBA from The Anderson Schools in 2001.

Maria Elena Berry, BBA 1987, has been Owner and President of Cumbre Construction for more than eight years. Under her leadership, Cumbre Construction has completed more than $42 million in construction projects over the past four years. The company has consistently ranked in the top half of New Mexico Woman magazine’s list of Top 25 Woman-Owned Businesses in New Mexico since 2001. Berry is a literacy and ESL tutor, a volunteer with Meals on Wheels, and a member of the Albuquerque Literacy Program Board of Directors.

Cristina Jaramillo has been with Ranchers Bank for 14 years, starting out as a Customer Account Specialist and moving into her current role as Vice President/Marketing Officer (Public Relations and Advertising) in January 2002. In addition to the Executive MBA she received from The Anderson Schools in 2003, Jaramillo has attended the Western States School of Banking, the American Institute of Banking, and the School of Bank Marketing and Management at the University of Colorado. She is Acting Executive Director for the Boys and Girls Club of Valencia County and a member of the United Way of Central New Mexico Women in Leadership Council.

The Young Alumni Award was established by The Anderson Schools of Management Foundation Board to honor individuals age 40 and under who are making their mark through their work and service to the community in the short time since graduating from The Anderson Schools.

Awards will be presented to Anderson, Berry and Jaramillo at the Hall of Fame Dinner at the Sheraton Old Town in Albuquerque. The event is Thursday, May 6 with no-host cocktails at 6:00 p.m., followed by dinner and the awards program at 7:00 p.m. The major sponsors for this year’s event to-date are Wells Fargo Bank, Bank of the West, Jaynes Corporation, KPMG LLP, and PNM.

Corporate table sponsorships are available at $600 for a table of eight. The cost for individual tickets is $75. To make reservations or to inquire about table sponsorships, call The Anderson Schools Development Office at (505) 277-0880 or email by Friday, April 30.


The Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico is dedicated to excellence in professional management education. At the Anderson School, faculty, staff, and students are committed to shaping the intellect and character of the next generation of business leaders, advancing the knowledge and practice of management, promoting economic development, and building a vibrant intellectual community that serves the highest and best interests of all our stakeholders.

The School was founded in 1947 and now offers more than a dozen concentrations at the BBA and MBA levels and is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in the top 20% of business schools in the nation. The School is funded by the State of New Mexico and further support is generated by The Anderson School of Management Foundation. For more information, the public can visit, email, or call (505) 277-6471.