Skip to main content

Press Release

2008 UNM Technology Business Plan Competition Takes Place Friday, April 11th

April 7, 2008

2008 UNM Technology Business Plan Competition Takes Place Friday, April 11th

On Friday, April 11th, The Anderson School of Management will host the third-annual UNM Technology Business Plan Competition. This year, we will award $40,000 in prize money to students looking to form their own high-tech startups in New Mexico. These awards are the Michael Gallegos Prize for Entrepreneurship ($25,000), the TVC Lockheed Martin Prize ($10,000), and the vSpring Capital Prize ($5,000). Venture capital partners have also offered more than $100,000 in seed funding as incentives for our teams.

More business community partners and Anderson faculty are involved in mentoring our budding entrepreneurs than ever before, and the field of competitors promises to be our strongest yet.

The alpha (morning) round of team presentations will happen between 9:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. in ASM rooms 1016, 1017, and 1064. Judges will then confer to decide which teams from the alpha round will advance to the omega (afternoon and final) round presentations.

The omega (afternoon) round will take place from 2:00 to 5:00 p.m., with judges hearing formal team presentations in ASM 1017, then conferring to decide which teams will be awarded prizes that evening.

In the evening, winning teams will be announced at the UNM Technology Business Plan Competition Awards Reception and Banquet. This awards celebration takes place from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. at the DoubleTree Hotel Downtown.

Sherman McCorkle, President and Chief Executive Officer of Technology Ventures Corporation, will deliver the keynote address at the banquet. And Michelle Coons, Commercial Banking Manager with Bank of the West, will be our emcee for the evening.

If you have received an invitation to the banquet and will be attending, please RSVP using our online form at https://techbizplan.mgt no later than Monday, April 7th.

The UNM Technology Business Plan Competition wishes to thank our valued sponsors:

• American Property Management Corporation – APMC and Michael Gallegos for the Michael Gallegos Prize for Entrepreneurship, 1st Place, $25,000
• Technology Ventures Corporation – TVC, Lockheed Martin, and Sherman McCorkle for the TVC Lockheed Martin Prize, 2nd Place, $10,000
• vSpring Capital for the vSpring Capital Prize, 3rd Place, $5,000, and for at least $10,000 in seed funding for a student team
• The Workforce Innovation in Regional Economic Development – WIRED - Initiative, Operational Support
• Northwestern Mutual Financial Network, Awards Banquet Sponsor
• Bank of the West, 2008 Awards Banquet Sponsor
• Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, Competition Day Breakfast Sponsor and In-Kind Legal Service Donor for the winning team
• New Mexico Venture Capital Association, Awards Reception Sponsor
• EPIC Ventures, Competition Day Lunch Sponsor
• Flywheel Ventures, $50,000-$100,000 potential seed funding for a student team

Our alpha round judges are:

John Freisinger, Technology Ventures Corporation
DeAnne Morgan, Northwestern Mutual Financial Network
Perry E. Bendicksen III, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schrek
Deborah Peacock, Peacock Myers, P.C.
Philip D. Askenazy, Ph.D., Peacock Myers, P.C.
Ned A. Godshall, Altela, Inc.
Lawrence Chavez, Flywheel Ventures
Francine Sommer, Village Ventures
Randall McDonald, Miller Stratvert P.A.
William (Bill) F. Bice, Verge Fund
Belinda Padilla, Technology Transfer Division, LANL
Les Matthews, Mesa Capital
Daniel M. Sachs, TEAM Technologies, Inc.
Doug Lee, WESST Corp

Our omega round judges are:

Michael Gallegos, APMC
Lee Trussell, Technology Ventures Corporation
Gavin Christensen, vSpring Capital
Stephanie Spong, Epic Ventures
Trevor R. Loy, Flywheel Ventures
Raymond Radosevich, Verge Fund
Beverly R. Bendicksen, Bank of the West

Ten student teams will compete this year (in alphabetical order by venture name):

The ABQari Wellness team, Isaac Estrada and Meghan Norvell, plans to produce innovative, high quality nutraceutical compounds at the cutting edge of nutritional science. These compounds are designed to reduce the risk of such diseases as prostate cancer, inflammation, and connective tissue injury.

The Advanced Pulmonary Solutions (APS) team, comprised of Kevin Stevenson, Robin Perini, and James Baldwin, aims to commercialize innovative, non-invasive diagnostic tools for a wide array of bacterial infections of the pulmonary system.

Brandon Schoen and Stephen Segura of Advant-Go, will pitch a plan based on a new technology for digital-mobile advertising media.

Art Life 360 team members David Bowman and Marc Wikowski plan to create an innovative e-commerce system to connect artists and art buyers, combining the best of Internet-based tools with the best of the real-life gallery experience through an interactive virtual gallery environment.

The BabyCharms plan focuses on toys with artificial intelligence capabilities that can be customized for individual infants. Team members are Gopala Rao Gandikota and Matthew Behm.

Robert Tierney, of Defensor Biotechnology, will propose a venture using virus-like particles (VLPs) for rapid identification of specific antibody response.

The team of EchoPill, comprised of Linhson Do, Mengli Wang, and William Zortman, centers their plan on a product which combines patented ultrasonic technology with proven capsulation methods to expand current endoscopic diagnostic tools.

Cynthia Kaiser, Samuel Johnson, and Ross Hipple, of HJK Labs, will present a commercialization plan for a live attenuated bacterial vaccine for cattle. This vaccine enduces antibodies to prevent adherence of E.Coli to the animals' intestines.

The My Investment team, consisting of Jovan Heusser and Jonathan Bundy, plan to create a website offering specialized services to small- and medium-sized investors in diverse portfolios.

The Surya Skincare team’s plan builds on patented nanotechnology to offer consumers the first-ever optically transparent sunscreen able to claim complete protection against cancer-causing UV radiation. Team members include Steven Renfro, William Reichard, Miles Nelson, Klaus Mueller, and Peter Duselis.

UNM TBP Competition web site:


The Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico is dedicated to excellence in professional management education. At the Anderson School, faculty, staff, and students are committed to shaping the intellect and character of the next generation of business leaders, advancing the knowledge and practice of management, promoting economic development, and building a vibrant intellectual community that serves the highest and best interests of all our stakeholders.

The School was founded in 1947 and now offers more than a dozen concentrations at the BBA and MBA levels and is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in the top 20% of business schools in the nation. The School is funded by the State of New Mexico and further support is generated by The Anderson School of Management Foundation. For more information, the public can visit, email, or call (505) 277-6471.