Skip to main content

Press Release

2009 UNM Technology Business Plan Competition Winners

April 6, 2009

The 2009 UNM Technology Business Plan Competition Winners were announced Friday, April 3rd at the Technology Business Plan banquet and reception.

Winner of the Michael Gallegos Prize for Entrepreneurship, $25,000, First Place

MicroHoundMicroHound: Ryan Olcott (MBA Management of Technology/MOT), J.B. Tuttle (MBA Management of Technology/MOT), Robert Virden (MBA Management of Technology/MOT)
The MicroHound was developed by Sandia National Labs as a fast, handheld explosives detection system capable of detecting vapor and particulate without invasive sampling.
MicroHound also received $1,500 in legal services from Perry Bendicksen, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck.

Winner of the TVC Lockheed Martin Prize, $10,000, Second Place

Eco-Verde: Jacques Hung Loui (Executive MBA)

Eco-VerdeEco-Verde owns and operates Eco-Jardin, a high-tech hydroponic and organic indoor production and retail facility centered in a planned community; we strive to promote a healthy lifestyle and green environment through our superior brand of quality micro-organic products and services to meet the needs of the fragmented emerging social-organic market.

Winner of the vSpring Capital Prize, $5,000, Third Place

BrackisH20BrackisH2O: Stephanie Fletcher (MACCT), Kameron Kramer (JD), Dorian McKenzie (BBA Entrepreneurial Studies), Robert Randolph (BBA Marketing)
An eco-friendly antiscalant for the desalination of brackish water in the Southwest

Additional Finalist Teams

Venture Catalyst, LLC: Neill Benton (JD), James Burns (MBA/JD dual degree), Matthew C. Sanchez (JD)
Solar power technology using organic carbon nanotubes
White Tiger Factory: Renee Johnson (BBA International Management), Alexandra Owens (BAFA Studio Art), Amanda Solosky (BBA International Management)
White Tiger Factory is an independent video game development company devoted to creating innovative games that appeal to a wide variety of people.

Additional Competing Teams

#222 (LOGOS): Han, Juhee and Jang, Eun Jung (Undergraduate students from Seoul, South Korea)
Our flange-style magnetic coupler is a high-tech, high-endurance product for preventing industrial accidents.

Engineered Solar Solutions: Glenn Ballard (MBA), Anthony Menicucci (MS Mechanical Engineering)
Modular hybrid solar technology for retrofit on existing residential construction

EZ-IT: Ben Marszalek (Executive MBA), Juan Torrez (Executive MBA), Jennie Wong (Executive MBA)
EZ-IT is a Hispanic-owned, start-up federal contracting company based in Albuquerque, NM, that specializes in providing IT and IT security services for federal government agencies.

Integrated Algal, Inc.: Brett Andrzejewski (Ph.D. Chemical Engineering), Antonio Gandara-Martinez (BBA International Management), Leila Potts (MBA Management Information Systems /MIS and Information Assurance/IA), Bobban Subhadra (Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences/SOM)
Integrated Algal utilizes a unique, patented method to produce biodiesel, omega-3 fatty acids, and high quality animal feed in a profitable and environmentally friendly manner.

Team Diné: Roxie June (Executive MBA), Dennie Yazzie-Toribio (Executive MBA)
Hooghan Dziil will leverage the current & future demand for data centers and will build upon that market demand to offer services that will bring the Navajo Nation to the forefront of technology and innovation.

Usurf Tech Team: Heba Almasri (MBA Marketing), Kevin Maynard (BBA Operations Management), Adel Saad (MS Sport Administration), Amr Saad (BAA Architecture)
Energy-efficient Internet cyber-station using prepaid cards delivered as an economic stimulus for small businesses

A number of Anderson faculty members directly mentored student teams participating in the UNM Technology Business Plan Competition:

John Benavidez
Ann Brooks (who also presented two financial seminars to all student teams)
Jim Cormier
Na Dai
Dwane Dean
Dante DiGregorio
Doug Hellie
Susan Hershberger
Howard Hickey
Howard Kraye
Len Malczynski
Alistair Preston
Steve Walsh
Craig White


The Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico is dedicated to excellence in professional management education. At the Anderson School, faculty, staff, and students are committed to shaping the intellect and character of the next generation of business leaders, advancing the knowledge and practice of management, promoting economic development, and building a vibrant intellectual community that serves the highest and best interests of all our stakeholders.

The School was founded in 1947 and now offers more than a dozen concentrations at the BBA and MBA levels and is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in the top 20% of business schools in the nation. The School is funded by the State of New Mexico and further support is generated by The Anderson School of Management Foundation. For more information, the public can visit, email, or call (505) 277-6471.