Skip to main content

Student Organizations

Today, student organizations serve as successful recruiting channels for employers. Students benefit from organizational involvement by gaining access to employers and developing professional skills that can help strengthen their career marketability.

Student Organizations

All Anderson student organization officers are required to subscribe to the Officers listserv. All student organization members should belong to the Members listserv. Communication with Anderson and student organizations are maintained using these lists.

  • Student Organization Officers: ASMCLUBOFFCR-L
  • Student Organization Members: ASMCLUBMBR-L

Subscribing

1. Address an e-mail message to: listserv@list.unm.edu
2. Leave the subject field blank
3. Only include the following in the body of the message:

subscribe  list your_first_name, your_last_name

EXAMPLE for joining the Student Organization Member list:

subscribe ASMCLUBMBR-L Joe Clubmember

4. Send the message WITHOUT any signatures or additional text in the message.

Unsubscribing

For those students who have found employment and no longer wish to receive email messages you must UNSUBSCRIBE to the listserv. Follow these simple instructions:

1. Address an e-mail message to: listserv@list.unm.edu
2. Leave the subject field blank
3. Only include the following in the body of the message:

unsubscribe ASMCLUBOFFICER-L

EXAMPLE for leaving the Student Organization Member list:

unsubscribe ASMCLUBOFFICER-L

4. Send the message WITHOUT any signatures or additional text in the message.

Resources for Student Organizations

Both UNM and Anderson provide a wide range of resources to student organizations including funding.

We strongly suggest that each student organization:

  • Develop and execute a strategic plan
  • Maintain an up-to-date website
  • Reach out to employers to co-sponsor community service activities
  • Maintain an active guest speaker series

Student Organization List

Association of Latino Professionals for America (ALPFA)

Website: http://www.alpfa.org/

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Tina Armijo
  • Tina Armijo
  • Unit Administrator 1: Accounting Academic Department
  • Phone: (505) 277-1890
  • tmarmijo@unm.edu


Student President

Deisy Ruiz, deisyruiz@unm.edu

Association of Certified Fraud Examiners

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Richard Brody


Co-Advisor: Ryan Knight, rcknight@unm.edu

Student President

Marilyn Georgievski, mgeorgievski@unm.edu

American Indian Business Association (AIBA)

Website: http://aiba.unm.edu/

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Browning Begody
  • Browning Begody
  • Career Development Facilitator I
  • Phone: (505) 277-3290
  • bbegody@unm.edu


Student President

Jennifer Lujan, jlujan0307@unm.edu

Association of Graduate Business Students (AGBS)

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Florencio Olguin
  • Florencio Olguin
  • Director, Student Services
  • Phone: (505) 277-3290
  • folguin@unm.edu


Student President

Harold Chang, hchang01@unm.edu

Beta Alpha Psi Honors Fraternity for Financial Information Professions

Website: http://www.unm.edu/~thetaxi/

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Ann Brooks


Student President

Kaeley Weimerskirch, kweimerskirch@unm.edu

Delta Sigma Pi Professional Business Fraternity

Website: http://www.unm.edu/~deltasig/

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Brian Gillespie


Student President

Mario Avalos, avalosm@unm.edu

Finance Management Association (FMA)

Website: http://www.unm.edu/~asmfia/

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Reilly White


Student President

Pooja Singh, poojasingh@unm.edu

Football Business Society

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Crystle Collier


Student President

Anuoluwapo (Anu) Somoye, asomoye@unm.edu

International Business Students Global (IBSG)

Website: http://ibsg.unm.edu

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Manuel Montoya


Student President

Brendon Gray, grayb@unm.edu

Network Exploitation Security Team (NEST)

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Alessandro '<em>Alex</em>' Seazzu


Student President

Nicholas Folse, nickfolse@gmail.com

$15 dues each semester.
UNM Listserv: NEST-L
Additional Contact: unm.nest@gmail.com

This is a campus-wide student organization consisting of graduate and undergraduate students with various backgrounds and majors.

Our purpose is to provide academic, social and training resources for those interested in the information systems field. We will also organize trips to relevant events in order to help members grow professionally and provide career opportunities. Additionally, NEST will provide service in the form of security assessments to other organizations.

The specific activities we will be participating in are:

  • Cyber Security Competitions
  • Capture The Flag Internal Activities
  • Conferences

We will also have guest speakers and other opportunities to network with professional contacts throughout the community.

Website: https://ia.mgt.unm.edu/student-organization/default.asp

University of New Mexico Entrepreneurs

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Stacy Sacco


Student President

Juan Unger, jcxfx29@unm.edu

New Mexico Investment Society (NMIS)

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Reilly White


Student President

Cody Aminian, caminian@unm.edu

Society for Human Resource Management

Website: http://shrm.unm.edu/

Faculty / Staff Advisor

Nicole Capehart


Student President

Jordan Streu, streu@unm.edu