Skip to main content

Press Release


September 22, 2000

ALBUQUERQUE – Albuquerque’s business community, along with Ford Motor Company, have come together to provide significant support for The University of New Mexico’s Anderson Schools of Management. Nearly $124,000 has been awarded to Anderson’s faculty members in the form of endowed lectureships, professorships and course development support for the 2000-2001 academic year.

Faculty receiving Ford Course Development Grants are: Professor Carl Schultz, developing a course on Supply Chain Management; Associate Professor Steve Yourstone, developing a course on Quality Management; and Professor Richard Reid, developing a course on the Theory of Constraints. Ford Motor Company made the course development awards based on proposals that were submitted by individual faculty members. Throughout each course case studies of the Ford Motor Company will be used to bring real-life situations to the classroom.

In addition to the Ford honorees, a selection committee consisting of Dr. Waneta Tuttle of PhDx Systems, Inc., UNM Associate Provost for Research Nasir Ahmed, former Anderson Schools Dean Dr. Ed Caplan, and Professor William I. Bullers, Chair of the Marketing, Information and Decision Sciences Department at The Schools, selected the following faculty for lectureships and professorships.

Corporate gifts for excellence include: Professor Alistair Preston, Arthur Andersen Endowed Professorship; Professor Allen Parkman, J.C. Baldridge Lumber Company Lectureship; Professor James Hamill, Rogoff Erickson Diamond and Walker Endowed Lectureship. Receiving the Sandia Federal Savings and Loan Endowed Lectureships were Associate Professors Gautam Vora, Joni Young and John Schatzberg.

In addition to these corporate gifts, the following private and institutional prizes were awarded: Professor Suleiman Kassicieh, the Albert Franklin Black Professorship of Entrepreneurship; Professor Helen Muller, The Robert O. Anderson Schools of Management Foundation Professorship; Professor Dwight Grant, Douglas Minge Brown Professorship; and Professor Richard Reid, The Anderson Schools of Management Foundation Lectureship. Two Anderson professors received Regents Professorships – Professor Jean Logsdon and Associate Professor Jacqueline N. Hood.


The Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico is dedicated to excellence in professional management education. At the Anderson School, faculty, staff, and students are committed to shaping the intellect and character of the next generation of business leaders, advancing the knowledge and practice of management, promoting economic development, and building a vibrant intellectual community that serves the highest and best interests of all our stakeholders.

The School was founded in 1947 and now offers more than a dozen concentrations at the BBA and MBA levels and is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business in the top 20% of business schools in the nation. The School is funded by the State of New Mexico and further support is generated by The Anderson School of Management Foundation. For more information, the public can visit, email, or call (505) 277-6471.