Previous Honorees

2000 Honorees

Hall of Fame Inductees

John Garcia
Anderson BBA, 1984
John A. Garcia was appointed by Governor Gary Johnson in 1999 as Secretary of the New Mexico Economic Development Department after serving a four-year term as Secretary of the New Mexico Department of Tourism. A long-time public servant, he has served as manager of the New Mexico State Fair and Senior Officer of Cultural Affairs. He is a Quality New Mexico two time award winner and winner of the Zia Alumni Award from UNM for distinguished public service. In his previous career in the hospitality industry, Garcia was Executive Director of the New Mexico Restaurant Association and founded Hospitality, Inc., an Albuquerque consulting business that specializes in restaurant and hotel management. Garcia received his BBA from The Anderson Schools in 1984 and currently is a member of Anderson’s National Advisory Board.

Robert Goodman
Anderson BBA, 1966
Robert Goodman is President of Capital Bank and has had a banking career that dates back to 1979 with Sunwest and Rio Grande Valley Banks. Goodman received his BBA in 1966 and his MBA in 1972 from The Anderson Schools. He has chaired the New Mexico Finance Authority and been Director of the Western States Schools of Banking Foundation. His volunteerism also extends to the Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce, the UNM Foundation and the Albuquerque Community Foundation.

John Morrison
Anderson BBA, 1955
John Morrison resides in Illinois and retired this year as a partner in the prestigious law firm of Kirkland & Ellis. After receiving a BBA in 1955 at The Anderson Schools – with distinction, third in a class of 450 – Morrison acquired a degree in Jurisprudence from the University of Oxford as UNM’s only Rhodes Scholar and a J.D. from the Harvard Law School. Morrison’s commitment to UNM has been evidenced through his service as a Board member of the UNM Foundation since 1989 and his appointment last year to the National Advisory Board of The Anderson Schools of Management.

Faculty Community Leadership Award

  • Professor Virginia Gerde

Learn more about the Faculty Community Leadership Award recipient