Previous Honorees

2006 Honorees

Hall of Fame Inductees

Victor A. Chavez
Anderson MBA, 1999
At Sandia National Laboratories’ Office of Advocacy and Small Business Development, Victor Chavez serves as manager of the Small Business Initiative, New Ventures, Entrepreneurial, Regional Economic Development and Small Business Advocacy programs. He founded the New Mexico Small Business Assistance Program, which has helped over 800 businesses throughout the state, and is responsible for the development and implementation of the Native American Initiative, which brings together the Navajo Nation, the US Department of Energy, and Sandia National Laboratories. Chavez is a three-time graduate of the University of New Mexico, and received his Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the Anderson Schools in 1999.

James Ellis
Anderson BBA, 1968
James Ellis is the Senior Executive Director of Global Initiatives at the University of Southern California (USC) and is the former Vice Dean of USC’s Marshall School of Business. Outside of academia, Ellis has served as CEO or President of three companies, the Chairman of the Board for three others, and a member of the board of directors for nine organizations, ranging in size from $5 million to $200 million in sales volume. Ellis received his Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) from the Anderson Schools in 1968.

Donald Power
Anderson MBA, 2003
Donald Power was named President and CEO of Jaynes Corporation in 2003 after 37 years with the company, starting when he was an undergraduate in college working as a formsetter and laborer. Over the years, he has seen the company grow into a nationally recognized general contractor. Power is Chairman-elect of Albuquerque Economic Development and a board member of the National Association of Industrial and Office Properties. He received his MBA from the Anderson Schools in 2003.

Ron J. Rivera
Anderson BBA, 1983
Ron Rivera is the current Managing Principal of REDW – The Rogoff Firm and has been a member of the public accounting profession for 22 years. An active member of the New Mexico business community, Rivera has been honored as the Small Business Association Accounting Advocate of the Year and has been active with the Albuquerque Hispano Chamber of Commerce as Chairman of the Board and Committee Chair for the Small Business and Scholarship Committees. Rivera received his BBA from the Anderson Schools in 1983.

Young Alumni

Chad Cooper
Anderson MBA, 2001
Chad Cooper has been with Prudential Financial since 2003 and currently manages his own practice as a financial planner with the company. A New Orleans’ native, Cooper presents free seminars entitled “A Wealth Building Education for African Americans” as a response to the impact that Hurricane Katrina had on so many in his home town. Cooper received his MBA from the Anderson Schools in 2001.

Jason Deshayes
Anderson BBA, 2003
Anderson MACC, 2004
Jason Deshayes, CPA, a Tax Senior with Pulakos & Alongi, Ltd., is the director of the New Mexico Society of Certified Public Accountants and the former alumni liaison for the UNM chapter of Beta Alpha Psi. In 2004, he was awarded the Outstanding New Member of the New Mexico Society of CPAs. Deshays received both his BBA (2003) and his Master of Accounting (2004) from the Anderson Schools.

Alice-Hopkins Loy
Anderson MBA, 2002
Alice Hopkins-Loy is the founder and Executive Director of Social Venture Partners of New Mexico, a partnership of 25 civic and business leaders that has contributed over $150,000 to non-profit organizations working to end generational poverty. Hopkins-Loy currently teaches Social Entrepreneurship at the Anderson Schools, and in 2001 founded the UNM chapter of Women Excelling in Business. Hopkins-Loy received her MBA from the Anderson Schools in 2002.

Faculty Community Leadership Award

  • Dr. Jacqueline Hood

Jackie Hood, PhD, serves as Chair of the Department of Organizational Studies at the Anderson Schools of Management. For the past 18 years, Hood has provided outstanding service and leadership at the Anderson Schools and is known to businesses around the state for her work in organizational design and development.

Learn more about the Faculty Community Leadership Award recipient