UNM Anderson Announces 33rd Hall of Fame Honorees

October 25, 2021 - Anna Dykeman

Anderson Hall of FameAlbuquerque, N.M. -- The University of New Mexico Anderson School of Management has announced its 33rd class of Hall of Fame honorees. The Hall of Fame highlights the contributions of its alumni to industry, its donors to supporting scholarships, and the entire community it takes to uphold the standards, goals and vision of the Anderson School.

The Hall of Fame exists to celebrate extraordinary alumni who have achieved professional success, made significant contributions to their community, and serve as role models to those who come after them.

The Hall of Fame has been reimagined and aligned with Anderson’s signature programming:

  • CEO Leadership Series – honoree demonstrating lifetime leadership
  • Scholarship Luncheon – Young alumni honorees demonstrating commitment to their careers and community
  • Women in Leadership Symposium – honorees demonstrating diversity in business
  • Tech Navigator Challenge – honoree demonstrating innovation and entrepreneurship

As in previous years, funds raised by this event support Anderson student scholarships, which have been even more vital to student success during the COVID-19 pandemic. To donate, visit https://bit.ly/3ridNDH.

Hall of Fame candidates are selected for their professional success, their contribution to the community, and their ongoing commitment to education. Anderson’s 33rd Hall of Fame honorees are:

  • D. Brett Newberry, CFE, CPA, ’81, President and Shareholder, Newberry & Associates
  • Paula Getz, ’83, Development Director, NM NEW
  • Ale Veltmann, ’92, Founder and CEO, ESG Lynk
  • Andy Lim, ’04, Founder and CEO, AddMi, Inc.

The Young Alumni Award recognizes Anderson graduates under age 40 who are impacting their communities and making great strides in their careers. The 33rd Hall of Fame Young Alumni Award recipients are:

  • Alicia Ortega, ’10 and ’12, co-director and co-founder, Native Women Lead
  • Simon Goldfine, ’03 and ’04, majority owner and president, Sierra Peaks Corporation

“We are extremely proud of this Hall of Fame class,” said Dean Mitzi Montoya. “Each person exemplifies the spirit of Anderson: career accomplishments through hard work, determination and tools gained from a quality business education.

“They’re true leaders in their industries, they’re generous with their expertise, and they pour their hearts into making a real impact in their community,” Montoya said.

This series kicks off with two events this fall:

  • The McKinnon Leadership Series: A Conversation with Brad Preber, Tuesday, Oct. 26, 5-7 p.m., Hotel Andaluz (sold out event).
    Brett Newberry will be honored at this event
  • UNM Homecoming Event: Anderson Scholarship Luncheon, Friday, Nov. 5, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m., Seasons Grill Old Town
    RSVP: https://goto.unm.edu/scholarshipbrunch
    Alicia Ortega and Simon Goldfine will be honored at this event.

Two additional events will be held in Spring 2021 to recognize the remaining honorees: Paula Getz, Ale Veltmann and Andy Lim.